2 Ripe Bananas

After a week of holiday festivities at my parent’s house, I came back to my apartment to find four eggs and two ripe bananas. I immediately called the Thai place for delivery.

Not interested in putting away my (massive) amount of laundry, I walked back into the kitchen. Procrastination, for me, is baking. I surveyed the scene. There are two main things you can do with overripe bananas: freeze them, or bake with them. This was an easy decision.

I Googled “2 ripe bananas.” This recipe came up. I got to work.

Preheat your oven to 325. Remove all of the baking pans, muffin tins, wire racks and jelly roll pans from where you store them in the oven. Place them on the floor. Realize you should’ve done the whole preheating thing second. Move your electric stand mixer from the side table where there is no outlet, to the counter where there is an outlet. Pull out a step stool and retrieve all-purpose flour from the top cabinet. Pour a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a pinch of nutmeg, which you’ll use in place of the orange zest and walnuts. Measure out the remaining ingredients from this recipe. Mix everything together, and bake for an hour and 15 minutes.

photo (28)

I was so distracted baking that I forgot about dinner. Never turned my ringer on. I had six missed calls from the Thai place. About 30 minutes and some phone calls-on my end-later, I got my asparagus and string beans in garlic sauce with jasmine rice. Freshly baked banana bread was completely worth the mix-up.

This was the last thing I baked in 2013. Already made my vision board for the new year; all about the vision boards. 2014 is going to be an incredible, adventure-filled, and well, delectable. Happy New Year, everyone!

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

