Cashew Persimmon Milk

The first time I tried a persimmon was during winter finals my sophomore year of college. I had a 3 a.m. scrambled eggs study break in the kitchen, and a girl on my floor was cutting what looked to be a super orange tomato. I’ve always been pretty nosy when I spot food I don’t recognize, so I asked her what it was. She gave me a piece; tasted like fall.

It’s persimmon season right now, so I’ve been trying to eat them as often as I can (for breakfast most mornings the past few weeks!). The trick is you HAVE to eat them ripe. Jack knows more about picking ripe fruit than anyone I know, and he brought some over for me from Chinatown this weekend. When I saw the persimmon milk in this recipe, I knew I had to make a cashew version.

Persimmon1

Cashew Persimmon Milk

Yields 1.5 liters 

3 cups cashews, soaked overnight in water

3 very ripe persimmons, skin removed

4 cups filtered water

1 tablespoon agave nectar

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Combine all of the above ingredients in a blender on high. Keep whirring for a minute or two, until completely blended. Store in an airtight container and refrigerate for up to 3 days, or drink immediately.

Persimmon2

This cashew milk has a beautiful light orange hue, and is incredibly creamy. I think it would also be delicious with a pinch of nutmeg and a shot of bourbon.

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

