PB&J Thumbprint Cookies

I love thumbprint cookies. There’s a health food store near my house that bakes them with a spelt flour base and the most delicious raspberry jam in the middle. So good. They list the ingredients on the label, but since I’ve been buying these cookies since I was 16 I feel like trying to recreate them would be downright unfair.

But I figured, if I used totally different ingredients me and that little store would still be cool (not that they’d know, right?). I had an excess of oats and soon-to-be expired jar of peanut butter on my hands so I put ’em together and made some cute cookies. These also happen to be vegan and gluten free…and a totally acceptable breakfast.

I based this recipes on these (which look pretty darn good).

PB&J Thumbprint Cookies

Yields 2 dozen cookies

2 cups oats

1/4 cup brown rice flour

2 tablespoons ground flax

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup agave nectar

1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Strawberry jam (or whatever you’ve got on hand), for finishing

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine dry ingredients (oats, brown rice flour, flax and baking powder) in a large bowl. Add in the remaining ingredients– except for the jam– until fully incorporated. Roll dough into 1-inch balls and place on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Making a thumbprint in each using your thumb, and fill with a teaspoon or so of jam.

Bake for 8-10 minutes, cool (or if you’re totally impatient like me, eat immediately) and enjoy with a tall glass of almond milk.

Or a milkshake. Whatever.

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

