Running on Cashew Milk

I have a confession. A while back when I wrote that I’d run a 10k on my goals page, I kinda thought that wouldn’t actually happen. 6.2 miles is a lot for someone who just started running at the end of November, and even though I’d committed to the 4 mile race, 6 was a tad too much. Even that .2. Too much.

My friend Danielle, however, is a rockstar. She and I made our training schedule over a month out and stuck to it (except for those two or three mornings when neither of us wanted to get out of bed. Whoops!). The day of our first 6.2 though, I woke up early and made cashew milk. It was glorious.

I don’t care if you’re a vegetarian, pescatarian, full-on meat eater or hater-of-nuts. Cashew milk is unbelievable and unbelievably easy to make. I based it off of this Choosing Raw recipe, minus the dates, plus a few shakes of cinnamon and a squeeze of agave nectar. No cheesecloth necessary in my opinion.

The perfect thing about homemade cashew milk– as opposed to some chemical or sweetner-laden sports drink– is that you know exactly whats gone into it. It’s hydrating, you get some protein, and a bonus kick in the tush from the cinnamon and salt. Store in the fridge and divvy out in bottles to use throughout the week post-workout.

Alright. Back to the running. So we did go to Austin (that post’s around the corner!) and we ran 6.2 miles, sans cowboy boots unfortch, but it was a beautiful way to start the trip. Over the weekend we ran the 10k leg of the Long Island Marathon. I was as nervous the night before as I was for the 4 mile race, and even more so that morning as I chomped on my packet of almond butter. But we ran it. Without a watch or strategy, and I smiled the whole damn time. Until we finished…then I just made stupid faces.

Image

So here I am, saying that I’m going to run a half marathon before the end of the year. Half-thinking it won’t happen, but knowing inside that it will. Til then there’s cashew milk.

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

