Tiramisu

Before I start talking about my new favorite dessert, you might notice a change around here… I bought my domain! I was looking to buy it over the summer but it was taken by one of those scummy domain-sucking companies. Does this make my blog a website? Nope. Does this mean I’ll be posting more? Not sure. WordPress informed me that it opened up and it was midnight and it was cheaper to buy than a new pair of shoes. I’m kidding. Kind of.

Now on to the food.

I love tiramisu. I’ve literally eaten it almost every day for the past two weeks. It all started when my friend Wai made it at work for a team lunch. If I remember correctly I had a forkful of kale and a giant plate of tiramisu. This is why I run, my friends. Anyway, my dad’s birthday was coming up and since one of my 2012 Goals is to bake, I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to try Wai’s recipe. Tiramisu is a no-bake dessert but since you’d find it in a bakery, I’m making it count.

The only difficult thing about making tiramisu is finding lady fingers. Since I forgot to pick them up at work, I went to four grocery stores to find them. Save yourself the time and head straight to an Italian shop. Also, don’t try to take a picture while the lady fingers are soaking in the espresso; they will turn to mush. You’ll try to cover them in mascarpone and they’ll just fall apart. You’ll eat them anyway.

No-Fuss Tiramisu

Serves 6

3 tablespoons instant espresso powder

12 ounces mascarpone or reduced-fat cream cheese

1 cup heavy cream (I used 1/2 cup and added in more while mixing, as needed)

1/3 cup sugar

2 packages (3 ounces each) soft ladyfingers

Unsweetened cocoa powder, for dusting

1. In a medium bowl, mix espresso powder with 3 tablespoons boiling water until dissolved. Add 1 1/2 cups cold water; set aside.

2. With an electric mixer, beat mascarpone with heavy cream and sugar until light and fluffy.

3. Spread a few tablespoons of mascarpone mixture in the bottom of a 2-quart serving dish. Separate ladyfingers. One by one, dip a third of ladyfingers in espresso, then arrange in bottom of dish. Spread with a third of cream-cheese mixture. Repeat twice with remaining ladyfingers, espresso, and cream-cheese mixture (can be refrigerated, covered, up to 1 day).

4. Dust with cocoa just before serving.

Adapted from Everyday Food by Martha Stewart.

I don’t know what this business is about leaving it in the fridge for up to one day. I had the last piece today and I’m alive to tell the tale. Plus, I think it tastes better the next day or so.

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

