Stone Barns Harvest Fest

Two weekends ago I got to help out at Stone Barns Harvest Fest with work. I was picturing that it would be a small field with some chickens and a farm stand or two, so you could imagine my surprise when I found myself in the midst of a local foodie feast. Attendees had access to the enormous farm, kid’s activities and a ton of vendors. We got some time to explore and I had my eye on the prize; it was time for a real deli sandwich!

Enter cured and smoked beef brisket on rye from Brooklyn’s Mile End delicatessen. With a pickle, please.

Red Jacket Orchards Apricot Stomp to drink. It was like drinking apricots! Nice thick– but not strange– texture.

Because I always have room for dessert, I picked up a beautifully dark brown, caramelized canelé (think crème brûlée in mini bundt-form) from Balthazar Bakery, plus a lavendar madeleine for later.

Once Harvest Fest started to wind down, I took a walk around the farm to look at the amazing animals. They all seemed very happy to live at Stone Barns. Chickens and pigs roaming galore.

The farm’s got all sorts of events (Farm Market every Sunday!); I can’t wait to go back!

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stone Barns Harvest Fest

  1. erin says:

    such a sweet post! so glad you enjoyed your time on the farm!

  2. I’m just seeing this now. That sandwich looks unbelievable.

Leave a Reply

