Maoz

I have a deep love for falafel. When I was at sleep-away camp my friends and I would replace the word “bananas” in Gwen Stefani’s Hollaback Girl anthem with f-a-l-a-f-e-l. Well, excuse my French but this $h!t is falafel.

I’ve had falafel in Israel, homemade falafel in Boca Raton and even falafel at David’s Borekas in Cedarhurst, NY. All of these have been soft, crunchy, salty, flavorful… jeez, I really do love falafel. The thing about Maoz Vegetarian, though, is that it takes this amazing chickpea-based dish and makes it fun. Like, really really fun.

Falafel is a fried ball made from ground chickpeas and spices. Falafel is also the term used to describe a pita filled with falafel balls and a slew of sauces and salads. Maoz has a small menu–basically just a falafel sandwich, falafel salad, drinks and fries–but all of the large menu items come with access to the salad bar! No “add on $4” or “$1 for tahini,” just salad bar. There are some extra items that you do need to pay for, but you can likely circumvent them and get to the good stuff.

When I went to Maoz with my friend Jeff over the week we both ordered a falafel sandwich with hummus. Here’s a before shot with my iced tea-lemonade:

Then we hit the salad bar. I piled on garlic sauce, yogurt sauce, coleslaw, red cabbage and Israeli salad (chopped tomato, cucumber and onion with olive oil).

If you’re thinking I only made one trip to the salad bar, then you are sorely mistaken. I adore salad bars. They’re amazing. For round two I got more yogurt sauce and salsa.

At one point Jeff provided table-side service with even more yogurt sauce. Needless to say, we both really liked the yogurt sauce (very easily made at home with some Greek yogurt thinned out with a bit of water, whizzed with cucumber, olive oil and some crushed garlic if you want a kick).

If you’re into falafel, you’ll really like Maoz. The restaurant is casual with cafeteria-style eating and fun for food lovers looking to add copious amounts of sauces and salads to their falafel sandwich.

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maoz

  1. Mindy says:

    Love those!!! Hope all is well with you!:)) we miss you kid xxoo Now when i eat one which is at least once a week, ill think of you :))) xxoo cousin mindy

  2. A Fan says:

    Amsterdam Falafel needs a mention here!

  3. It’s crazy but I haven’t been! Definitely on my ‘before I graduate’ to do list.

Leave a Reply

