Seven Ingredient Soup

When I made my food shopping list for this week I knew I’d be craving something warm, hearty and healthy to make for dinner. I’ve been making a ton of pasta and vegetable stir-fry lately so it was time for soup. Seven ingredient soup to be exact.

This soup is so delicious and incredibly easy to make that I’m actually wondering why I’ve never thought to make it before. Luckily my mistake might be your new dinner staple!

Seven Ingredient Chicken and Cannellini Bean Soup

1 15 oz can cannellini beans, drained

1/2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into cubes

1/2 yellow onion, diced

2 large cloves garlic, finely chopped

1 tbsp. butter

1 cup chicken stock

4 heaping tbsp. tomatillo salsa

Serves 2

Add butter to a dutch oven or large pot on medium heat. Add in garlic and onions and let sit for 10 minutes. Add in chicken for another 10 minutes or just until it starts to brown (you can lower the heat here if needed). Deglaze your pan with the chicken stock, scraping up the brown bits with a wooden spoon. Decrease the heat to low, cover the pot and let everything sit for two hours. Top each bowl with 2 tablespoonfuls of tomatillo salsa to serve. Enjoy!

The best part? The prep work takes all of 15 minutes.

While the soup is cooking you can go to the gym, read a few chapters of a book or watch a repeat episode of “Keeping Up with the Kardashians.” I don’t judge. Whatever you do, only lift the lid once to stir if needed and then keep it shut. I promise it will smell incredible once everything is done.

I’m typically really off when I try to make food for myself. I usually make a lot more than I actually anticipate, but the directions above make two perfect portions. I put half of the soup in a container and ate the rest last night with a hunk of cornbread. Cornbread and tomatillo salsa are meant to be eaten together, trust me.

The soup was even better tonight! The chicken is super tender already but I think sitting overnight helped the texture along more. I served tonight’s bowl with homemade tortilla chips. All you need to do for this is slice a small whole wheat tortilla into triangles, drizzle with olive oil, sea salt and paprika and place in an oven on 350 for 15 minutes. Flip once to make sure both sides are extra crispy.

Dinner was also better tonight because of these cute pink Gerbera daisies Will sent me for our 5 year anniversary!

I’m expecting him here any minute (he drove down from Long Island after a night class he’s taking for his Master’s) and I hope he likes his presents! I’ll be sure to update next week on our anniversary eats.

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seven Ingredient Soup

  1. A Fan says:

    Have you been signing off M this entire blog and I just noticed? Its very gossip girl. Also very James Bond
    -xoxo Q

  2. Pingback: 5 Ingredient Eggplant and Beef Chili | delectable living

  3. Pingback: 5 Ingredient Eggplant and Beef Chili | delectable living

Leave a Reply

