Hello Cupcake

Despite the slushy snow, there was one thing I had to pick up before heading to Union Station on Thursday; Hello Cupcake. Yes Crumbs just opened up a storefront at the station, but my family is a bit HC-biased. I worked there during the spring semester of my sophomore year and became somewhat addicted due to the freebies I got on my way out the door.

My family came to visit that year during passover, so they were pretty disappointed that they couldn’t try one of the cupcakes I had been raving about. Luckily, however, one of the pastry chefs gave me cups of frosting so at least they could sample the buttercream. The next time my dad was in D.C. on business he stopped in to take a 4-pack home and I decided to do the same.

I chose three different flavors: two Peanut Butter Blossoms (chocolate cake, peanut butter buttercream frosting, topped with a chocolate kiss) for my brother and dad, a Raspberry Beret (chocolate cake, raspberry buttercream frosting) for my mom and a Lucy (lemon cake, raspberry buttercream frosting) for Will and me to share. Note one of those PB Blossoms are missing…

The lemon cake is my favorite cake, with the You Tart! being my favorite cupcake (lemon cake, lemon cream cheese frosting). Other top picks include the Triple Coconut (coconut cake, coconut cream cheese frosting, topped with toasted coconut) and the Tiramisu (espresso cake, mascarpone cream cheese frosting, topped with a chocolate-covered espresso bean).

Hello Cupcake does a seasonal cupcake or two each month, and their march cupcake is my favorite with Guinness chocolate cake, Bailey’s buttercream frosting, topped with a fondant shamrock. Can’t wait until march. Seriously.

I’m so happy everyone enjoyed the cupcakes and it was really nice to spend time with my family over the weekend. What’s your favorite place to get cupcakes in D.C.?

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hello Cupcake

  1. A Fan says:

    Cupcakes are so 2010. What will the next desert fad be?

  2. Pingback: Baked and Wired | delectable living

Leave a Reply

