Books for 2011

On December 26th my friend Al updated his Facebook status saying, “Just finished my 2010 New Year’s Resolution to read 50 books outside of school!” I told him in-person yesterday that his status inspired me to promptly finish a book that I had started over the summer (“The Party” by Sally Quinn, which was very funny). I then went on to tell all of my Alpha Kappa Psi brothers at chapter yesterday about what Al had done, and how awesome I thought this resolution was.

While I’m not going to reach for 50 books (I’ve got a lot of Oprah to watch now thanks to OWN),  I am going to commit to reading three books before spring break in March:

I started both “The United States of Arugula” and “In Defense of Food” last year, so I’m just going to re-read both of these. Once I’m done with each book I will write up a little review and post it here. After spring break I plan on reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s “Eat, Pray, Love,” Anthony Bourdain’s “Kitchen Confidential” and then Jennifer Lee’s “The Fortune Cookie Chronicles.”

Over spring break itself I’ll probably read something like “Kardashian Konfidential” or Lauren Conrad’s “L.A. Candy.” I mean, I can’t be all food all the time. There is a part of my soul entirely dedicated to reality television.

What books do you plan on reading in 2011?

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

