Super-Sized Salad

As far as I’m concerned, the only thing you should ever get super-sized is a salad. Maybe some other things too, like fruit. Or almond butter. OK, anyway… tonight for dinner I wanted to make something jam-packed with vegetables. I’m talking volume and color here, so I went all out yesterday and bought the fixings. I call this meal a ‘one cutting board wonder’ because all you really need is a large cutting board to get chopping on this salad.

I started out by marinating chopped shitake mushrooms in the juice of one lime:

Then I ran my knife through 10 oz each of romaine lettuce and a spring mix and dumped everything into a large bowl. I topped the greens with a ton of chopped vegetables, including: half of a pint of Lady Moon Farms cherry tomatoes (my absolute favorite), half of a large cucumber, a handful of shredded carrots, 6 oz. of snap peas, an avocado, and this funky pre-chopped mix from Trade Joe’s:

The mix includes carrots, celery, radishes, broccoli, greed cabbage, red cabbage, jicama and green pepper. I think I literally said “score” aloud when I spotted this because it had all of the beautiful crunch I was looking for in one convenient container! I added half of the container to the salad and I was ready to go! Well, except for one topping. I wanted the salad to have a bit of a kick so I chopped 1/4 cup of Lime Chile mixed nuts, also from TJ’s, and placed them right in the center of this monstrous, but glorious, salad:

Even the rooster wants some (we have about 20 of them dispersed about the house). I served the salad to my family with ginger dressing and garlic bread and loved every bite. Can’t wait to eat the leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

I could never eat dinner without my mind already on dessert, so I had these No-Bake Peanut Butter Cookies from the How Sweet It Is blog ready to go in the fridge. I subbed the graham crackers for ginger snaps and they were amazing and couldn’t be easier to make. I think they would taste great crumbled into oatmeal or plain Greek yogurt. I had my cookie with a cup of hot chocolate made with  Vervacious Vanilla Cocoa powder and almond milk:

I’ve since been spending the night watching The Real Housewives of Atlanta and Beverly Hills on Bravo. Dwight is my favorite sassy Atlanta friend.

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Super-Sized Salad

  1. rhonda says:

    Hey Melissa,
    Looks like a great salad, and I’m sure your entire family enjoyed it. (unlike mine would). You are definitely your mother’s daughter having “a cookie”. I miss watching the Housewives of xxx with Hilary. It use to be what we watched together, but she didn’t have time to start up with the Beverly Hills one.

  2. A fan says:

    Roosters?

Leave a Reply

