Back at Le Pain

Hello from a relaxing Saturday in the world of Melissa Smith! I’m about to get cracking on a take-home test, but before that I wanted to blog about brunch. Brunch is an ingenious thing because it gives you the perfect excuse to eat delectable treats in the morning or early afternoon; no one is going to judge you for eating waffles, french toast and eggs Benedict if you say you ate it for brunch. At least I won’t.

Today I went back to le pain quotidien for brunch with my friend Emily. I was very happy to learn that our friend Jeff would be making a guest appearance and had already scored a corner table for us. We got tea to start, red fruits for me:

Jeff had already eaten, so he got an orange juice and Emily and I both ordered omelettes; Asparagus and Goat Cheese for her and Smoked Salmon for me. I may or may not have moved my plate to another table in order to get better photo lighting:

It was so nice to be able to just relax, eat and talk with them in such a pleasant atmosphere. About two hours later we decided it was time to go, but not before stopping at the bakery counter. I picked up an Apple-Almond Tart, which I’ve since eaten a few bites of. The sweet apples beautifully balance out the light and nutty marzipan crust. A lovely treat on a lovely Saturday:

Now if only take-home tests were as sweet…

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

