Pre-Thanksgiving

Hi from Portland, Maine! My aunt, uncle and cousins live right outside of the city and we will be spending Thanksgiving weekend with them. The welcome sign as you enter the state reads, “Welcome to Maine the way life should be” and I couldn’t agree more. I love Maine. Love. All of the amazing, fresh food and that cozy New England feel just make me so darn happy.

As I’m sitting here thinking about all of the beautiful food that is surely sitting in my aunt’s kitchen for tomorrow, I am reminded of my pre-Thanksgiving dinner on Saturday night. My friends Foster and Zach hosted a Thanksgiving and Gettysberg Address anniversary party all mashed into one (in case you’re wondering, Foster and Zach made everyone read the address aloud).

I immediately gravitated toward the kitchen where I knew I’d find a vat of Foster’s spiked cider. I went to ask him for the recipe and was surprised to find how simple it is to make:

Foster’s Spiked Cider

Half a handle of dark rum (or more if you’re feeling really festive)

1 gallon apple cider

1/2 tablespoon of allspice

2 cinnamon sticks

A few slices of orange rind

Combine all ingredients together in a large pot. Let everything simmer for 20 minutes and serve.

I’d had this cider before but it was made all the better with whipahol. You heard me fellow 21-year-olds. This alchohol-infused whipped cream comes in a variety of flavors and I had mine topped with amaretto. Amazing.

After a few glasses of cider, the turkey was ready and I piled up my plate with an assortment of ambrosia, stuffing, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, turkey and cranberry sauce:

Finally, for dessert I sampled one of these “mashed potato cupcakes,” aka vanilla and chocolate cupcakes lazily topped with vanilla frosting, a pineapple starburst and caramel sauce. How cute are these?

I hope that everyone has a great Thanksgiving tomorrow and takes a moment to remember all that they are thankful for!

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

