Double Duty Stir-Fry

When I went food shopping yesterday I stopped myself from picking up the usual salad-making vegetables, and instead decided to try something different. I typically throw together a salad or sandwich for lunch, but I thought a stir-fry would be a great way to eat a variety of vegetables while also allowing me to take a cooking break from final’s prep.

Yes, finals are coming at the AU community faster than we’d all like to think, so just as I said for midterms, thinking of your eats ahead of time is the only way to go. For finals or a busy work week alike, when some things are out of your control, at least you can control what you’re putting in your mouth.

For today and tomorrow I’m keeping it simple by using one base stir-fry and then adding in different ingredients so that each will taste like a separate meal. For the stir-fry you can use any vegetables you’d like but I made mine with the following:

Double Duty Stir Fry

3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

1 small head of broccoli and stem, chopped and sliced

1 red pepper, sliced into matchsticks

4 oz. sliced white mushroom

8 oz. bean sprouts

1 large carrot, shredded

1 tablespoon canola oil

1 tablespoon soy sauce

Heat a wok or pan to medium-high and add in the canola oil and garlic. Immediately reduce the heat to medium and add in the broccoli and red pepper, let sit for 5 minutes. Add in the mushrooms and combine, let all of the vegetables sit for another 5 minutes. Add in the carrot and beansprouts and combine, and let everything sit for an additional 5 minutes on medium-low. Once all of the vegetables are in the pan, add in the soy sauce and stir to combine.

Makes enough for 2 meals

Today I added in a quarter pound of poached mussels and their juices to half of the stir-fry:

I love mussels because they add flavor and protein to a meal and are really easy to work with once poached. Lunch today was a nice change of pace and very filling thanks to the volume of vegetables and mussels. Check back tomorrow to see how I change things up again using the same stir-fry!

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Double Duty Stir-Fry

  1. Pingback: Stir-Fry Take Two | delectable living

Leave a comment