Spaghetti Squash

I was elated to see spaghetti squash last week at Whole Foods, so I picked out the smallest one I could find (just under 3 pounds) and headed toward the oven. The first (and only) time I’ve ever eaten spaghetti squash was at Mother Kelly’s near my hometown where it was topped with their delicious tomato sauce and a plethora of veggies.

For this feat, I just wanted to eat the squash by itself to see how it tasted alone and preparing it was easy as… squash. For those of you who haven’t worked with spaghetti squash before, all you need to do is cut it in half (or fourths), lay the pulp-side down on a greased baking sheet and let the oven do the work! I let the squash sit in a 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes and then let it cool for about 5 minutes so that I could handle it.

Once cooled, grab a spoon and scoop out the seeds and dark yellow pulp and then switch over to a fork for taking out the yellow flesh. Let yourself be amazed by how the flesh of the squash turns from a solid mass into spaghetti-like strings as you scoop! I served 1/4 of the squash as a side with dinner for me and Will, and put the rest in a glass container for munching throughout the week. All I added was about a tablespoon of Earth balance and some sea salt; simple and delicious!

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

