It’s Just a Party

Tonight I am going to see my jazz dance professor, Maurice Johnson, in a concert at the Dance Place. He was out over the past week due to show rehearsals, so our Tuesday class was subbed by Ralph Glenmore. Not only is Ralph a well-seasoned and talented dancer, he also has a special ability to make dance class fun.

At the beginning of class, Ralph said something that resonated with me throughout the rest of the afternoon: “Don’t crunch up, don’t get scared; it’s just a party.” I quickly jotted down the phrase in my cell phone once the class was over and thought about what it meant to me.

Oftentimes I’ll get so anxious thinking about something that I will miss out on the experience itself. We all control our perceptions of situations, and while I usually have a smile on my face, I sometimes need to remind myself to have fun! When life becomes stressful, find a space in the back of your mind to remember to take a breath and enjoy. After all, it’s just a party.

Have a great Saturday night!

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

