Upright Citizen’s Brigade: The Story of My Life (Literally)

After Zengo on Saturday night, Tina and I met up with our friend Jeff to see the Upright Citizen’s Brigade Touring Company. We sat in our seats, chatted about the past week and waited for the show to begin. All of these things sound pretty normal, but this evening was bound to be a little crazy (I didn’t drink two mojitos with dinner for nothing!). As fate would have it, I was selected out of the entire audience to come up to the front and get interviewed by the touring company.

They asked me about my mom (Jewish, crazy, loves Oprah), my dad (gets guilt-ed daily by my mom, works for the government, is very secretive about working for the government), my brother (“baby genius,” did oncology research over the summer, is 16-years-old) and my job/internship (Ping Pong Dim Sum, best happy hour in town, delicious dim sum). In this 10-minute conversation in front of 100 or so people, they also learned that I am a Certified Zumba Instructor, have a boyfriend of almost 5 years and had a great time studying abroad in London. For some strange reason, however, when they asked me for my favorite London memory I drew a blank and blurted “Jeff over there ate a lot of pizza!” Seriously, don’t ask me what I was thinking.

Once the interview and wallet-search were over and the entire audience knew everything about being a Jewish girl from Long Island-turned dim sum event planner and marketer, the show began. Each skit was focused on a different topic of the interview; one of my mom complaining about her lunch, one of my dad being interrogated by spies and one of my brother having his own cancer research lab of parrots and monkeys in our basement. They then went on to poke fun at my relationship with my boyfriend and the fact that the only thing I did in London was watch my friend eat pizza. (To set the record straight, I did many things in London and watching Jeff eat pizza happened approximately 4 times. Again, no idea why that popped into my head but it did make for a hilarious sketch!).

So here I was sitting in the audience watching, and laughing, as my story was being told to complete strangers. The fact that everyone around me was laughing too showed me just how crazy my family really is and made me appreciate all of the humor in my life. The best part? That bearded red-head pictured above played the “character” of Melissa throughout. It was an interesting experience to say the least and is a story that I’m sure my mom will make me tell over and over from now until Passover.

While you might not be able to see it performed in front of you, take a little time today to laugh about the funny things in your life.

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

