Farewell, Oprah

Love her or hate her, Oprah has been part of my life for a very long time. Throughout middle and high school I watched “The Oprah Winfrey Show” almost every day with my mom. I grew to love the woman, her crazy antics, her high heels and her constantly-changing hairdos. I also appreciate that she uses her power to help people, and while she might go a bit overboard sometimes (like sending 300 people to Australia), I think her intentions are good.

Last year when it was officially announced that this would be the last season of “The Oprah Winfrey Show,” my mom told me that we should “enjoy it while it lasts.” While watching Oprah on television makes me feel comforted because I’ve watched it for so long, my mom is a true, hardcore, cut-throat Oprah fan whose favorite time of day is “Oprah time.” She told me twice today that she’s known Oprah longer than me and my brother and was found teary-eyed post-episode by my dad.

I am both excited and sad to watch the farewell season unfold, but I am happy at the prospect of watching some episodes with my mom when I come home in the winter.

x

If you are an Oprah fan, what is your favorite Oprah moment? I loved her episode with Michael Pollan from this spring!

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farewell, Oprah

  1. Pingback: Vervacious | delectable living

  2. Pingback: Books for 2011 | delectable living

Leave a Reply

