Spaghetti and Meatballs

Just reading the name of this dish makes me feel all warm and cozy inside. Unfortunately, today is Rosh Hashanah and if I were at home on Long Island I would be eating roasted chicken with kasha varnishkes and drinking Manischewitz. Fortunately, my mom made my boyfriend bring down two round loaves of raisin challah and a marble mandel bread for the High Holidays. If I can’t be home eating Jewish comfort food, then I am very glad to eat comfort food of any nationality here in the District. So with a pre-dinner snack of challah and honey (the honey represents a “sweet New Year”), I happily made homemade meatballs and tomato sauce with whole wheat spaghetti and fennel-filled chicken sausages with my roommates; a very Italian dish on a very Jewish holiday.

No matter what you celebrate (or what you ate for dinner tonight), I hope you all have a sweet and happy year.

-M

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

